The National Committee

The German Research Foundation DFG established the National Committee SCAR/IASC in January 1992. The National Committee serves as the national correspondence body to the Scientific Committee on Antartic Research (SCAR) and the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC). In addition, the National Committee plans and coordinates the activities of German university research in the field of polar research together with the Alfred Wegener Institute and the relevant federal institutions, which also provide the necessary logistics for university research.
The National Committee coordinates its work with the relevant DFG senate commissions for geosciences.

Who we are

2020 – 2022


Prof. Dr. Monika Rhein
University of Bremen


Dr. Linn Sanguineti
University of Bremen


Prof. Dr. Karsten Gohl
AWI Bremerhaven

Prof. Dr. Martin Horwath
University of Dresden

Prof. Dr. Torsten Kanzow
AWI Bremerhaven

Prof. Dr. Ulf Karsten
University of Rostock

Dr. Andreas Läufer
BGR Hannover

Prof. Dr. J. Otto Habeck
University of Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Hagen
University of Bremen

Dr. Uwe Nixdorf
AWI Bremerhaven

Prof. Dr. Petra Quillfeldt
University of Giessen

Prof. Dr. Manfred Wendisch
University of Leipzig

Dr. Annette Rinke
AWI Potsdam

Dr. Gunnar Spreen
University of Bremen

DFG contact

Dr. Susanne Faulhaber
DFG – German Research Foundation
Physics, Mathematics, Geosciences